Happily Ever After

My brother got engaged today! He and his fiancee sounded so excited on the phone, and it’s easy to be excited for them. I’m thrilled that our family is growing, and for the chances I’ll have to get to better know my sister-in-law-to-be.

I remember the weekend of our engagement with such warm, hazy happiness. (Helped by lots of champagne and the fact that we managed to surprise everyone. How could I not remember with a grin one friend’s reaction of “I think I just saw a pig fly by my window”?) And I know it’s a cliche, but our wedding really was one of the best days of my life — there is just nothing like having everyone you love most in one place, and just for you. But the months and years since our engagement and wedding days have really been what it’s all about. Good days, when the Sox won their second World Series, and when we visited the British House of Commons. Bad days, when we were hopelessly lost in Paris, and when our car was towed while I was in radioactive isolation. And lots of in-between days when I’ve been glad to have a partner in carrying the groceries up three flights of stairs.

Here’s wishing M&J all of the good, none of the bad, and lots of laughs to get through it all. Congrats!

P.S. As I was finishing this post, the song we were introduced to at our wedding came on my iPod. A sign!

Leave a Reply

