Bayou Bound

You may have gathered from reading my last few posts that there have been some bad days around here lately.

That’s true. There are good days and bad days right now, and it’s tough to know what the day will hold when I wake up. (Though, in hindsight, I probably should have had an idea what was coming when I woke up on Tuesday convinced that it was Friday.)

I’m happy to report that today was a good day. I had a great lunch with a great friend. The frenzy of our report at work is over (for now, at least). I finished my last paper for the semester with time to spare. (Ignoring for the moment that an incomplete lingers from another class. I’ll deal with that later.)

I still need that vacation I wrote about earlier, though. And after much deliberation and time spent searching for flights on Kayak, we’re headed to New Orleans.

I’ve been there, and had a blast. I remember taking the St. Charles Street streetcar to the Camellia Grill, drinking lots of coffee at Cafe du Monde, and attempting to use the spoons on a washboard (damn, that’s harder than it looks!)–along with lots of good food and even more good drinks.

But that was all seven years ago. Now what should we do there? 

I see a lot of good days in our future on this trip.

2 thoughts on “Bayou Bound

  1. See all that is changed after the storm as a lesson in the beauty of survival, however sad and worn it may appear at first. Living to tell has its own subtle nobility – whethef a warped door or the jut of a gutsy chin.

Leave a Reply

