A Storybook Life, v. 1.1

I’m not a fan of redesigns.

I’m one of those website visitors who sighs when a favorite site switches things up. I liked things the way they were! Where did that menu go? How do I find the archives that used to be so readily available? 

Maybe I react this way because I’m not really a fan of change, or that I’m just not all that visually creative. I’ve worked on magazines as they’ve gone through redesigns, and although I really liked the finished products, the redesign process is challenging. It requires forward thinking, taking a step ahead of the curve to respond to changes in design aesthetics and to anticipate what your readers will need in the future.

Nevertheless, you’ll notice that I changed the blog up a little today. The original design was always intended to be a placeholder–something clean that allowed me to play around a bit, and for all of you to get acquainted with the site. Those steps taken, it was time to look for something a little different.

I’m lucky–using WordPress means that I don’t need to know code or design. I just go to a menu, look over the available templates, and plug and play. That doesn’t mean the choice was easy. My last theme–surprise–was called “The Journalist.” This time, did I want to stay literal and adopt “PressRow”? Or to go more playful with “Bueno”? I played a little Three Little Pigs–this design was too harsh, that one was too lighthearted. In the end, I found a design and a name that worked for where I am now, “Vigilance.”

I’m sure there will be more tweaks and changes down the line, but this is probably enough change for me right now. Let me know what you think!

One thought on “A Storybook Life, v. 1.1

Leave a Reply

