Merci, Gracias, Grazie…Thanks

Due to popular demand (and my own writing addiction), this blog will go on. I’ll still be writing about cancer–my own experiences and updates, along with developments I’m following in the larger cancer community–but also other random things that I’m not 100 percent sure of just yet. I’ll probably chronicle my attempts to rediscover my running stride and to find the right yoga class. Maybe once I’m back to work, my frustration with Metro. The fifth season of Friday Night Lights starts on DirecTV on October 26, so you can be sure I’ll have something to say there.

But for now, as I start the first non-thyca centered week in a long, long time, and at the risk of extreme sappiness, I really just want to thank all of you.

Thank you for reading, and for coming back. (Yes, I stalk my blog metrics, and yes, I like to see when my page views spike.)

Thank you for understanding when, even though I was able to write, I needed time to myself.

Thank you for sticking by me, ready to step in to talk or hang out when I was done being by myself.

Thank you for commiserating when I whined about the wretched diet, and when I struggled through isolation.

Thank you for the emails, the calls, the cards, the books, the magazines, the DVDs, the towels, the candy, the dinners before LID, the drinks during, the stories of your lives that had absolutely nothing to do with me or cancer. Every one of them helped me inch my way through the last few months.

I wrote at the beginning of all this how lucky I am, and the time since has only reinforced that. Thanks for helping to prove what I wrote back then was right.

7 thoughts on “Merci, Gracias, Grazie…Thanks

  1. Thrilled to hear you are going to continue!! Want to let you know I have purchased a luminaria in honor of you from my friend who is participating in the Relay for Life this weekend. Your strength and fortitude during this time is inspiring but not surprising in any way…you rock!!!

    • Laura — that’s awesome! Thanks so much for thinking of me with the Relay for Life.

      Let’s see how excited you all are that the blog is continuing once you read my 400th post on yoga and/or Friday Night Lights. 🙂

  2. SO glad the LID/THCA experience is behind you now. You are to be admired for your courage, strength and phenomenal sense of humor. You are a gifted and talented writer and we are all happy that you have agreed to continue your BLOG. As a nurse, you have educated me on thyroid cancer in the most amusing and creative way. Thanks for sharing with us. All the best to you and B.
    Judy Wright

  3. Thrilled to hear that the treatment is over and done with. Look forward to lurking on your blog and seeing you in person…

  4. Hi Michele, just want you to know that I am thinking about you all the time. You are an amazing person with great strentgh. Please keep doing your blog, I love reading it.
    Love Auntie Re

Leave a Reply

