This Week, Brought to You By the Letter P

So far this week has featured perfectionism and procrastination.

Today…pride.

I was prouder of myself yesterday than I’ve been in a long time.

I’m sure you can understand why I can’t give all the details here (work related), but suffice to say that I was given a choice yesterday–a situation that as recently as a few months ago I wouldn’t have seen as a choice at all–that called into question a lot of the thinking and priority setting I’ve been doing over the last few months. I’ve been pretty good about setting related limits, but yesterday was the first time my back was pushed against the wall.

I’m happy–and really proud–that when it was, I made the choice that’s right for my new life.

That’s not to say that it was easy. It went against all too many of my ingrained habits and tendencies, sent my heart racing, and probably left some people unhappy.

It was so tough, but so worth it.

(As I was writing this post, listening to my go-to Norah Jones, her song “Not Too Late” came on: “I’ve seen people try to change, and I know it isn’t easy, but nothing worth the time ever really is.” How true.)

4 thoughts on “This Week, Brought to You By the Letter P

  1. Sometimes the hardest thing in life is deciding to do what is right for ourselves, even if that means letting other people down. I am very proud of you!!

  2. Remember my past comment that we talked about offline: Life gives you lessons until you learn them. Sounds like you just nailed that one and got the patch for “priority-setting under fire.” 🙂

Leave a Reply

