Do You Hear What I Hear?

Excuse me while I procrastinate on an ongoing weekend work assignment. (Just when I’d broken the habit…a big report release pulls me back in. But this is an exception now, not the rule!) 

Anyway, I’m writing just to confess that I *almost* turned on the Christmas music today. 

You see, I have an unhealthy relationship with Christmas music. I was raised on a steady stream of Barbra Streisand’s Jingle Bells, Amy Grant, and the Muppets’ Christmas album (which, incidentally, is the best Christmas album ever made. Don’t believe me? Listen to “A Baby Just Like You” and “When the River Meets the Sea” and tell me I’m wrong.). 

Just try to stop listening. It's impossible.

 

Then I went to school in a ridiculously cold and snowy place, where it seemed like Christmas was just around the corner basically as soon as Halloween passed. So I listened in November. 

Next? I got a job where December was hell on wheels, full of crazy long days that didn’t leave much time for enjoying Christmas music at home. So I started listening to it at work, and associating it with getting work done. 

Now if I need to get work done in the fall? Christmas music. 

I’m kind of out of shape when it comes to doing real work on the weekends these days, as I’ve been avoiding it like the plague since returning to work. (School work is a different story, but doesn’t really count.) Today could qualify as sweater weather–my most favorite season–and I almost called in the big guns, in the form of John Denver, Charlie Brown, and, yes, Amy Grant, to motivate me to finish my assignment. 

Then I realized it was 90 degrees last Saturday, and I stopped myself. I’ve managed to get a decent amount of work done anyway (though I may have to turn to my other Pavlov’s dog work music, Norah Jones, to get over the finish line). But I see the days of Miss Piggy and Kermit approaching, and they make me happy. 

They may also make me weird, but that’s OK. Everyone has at least one weird thing that makes them happy…right? (Feel free to offer yours up in the comments. You can think of it as a start to your gratitude journal.)

5 thoughts on “Do You Hear What I Hear?

  1. Haha! Last night I confessed to Shawn that I had just listened to the Barenaked Ladies version of God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen and that chistmas music made it’s return to my life. His reponse: “I didn’t know that you ever stopped listening to it.”. We truly are sisters!

  2. I wholeheartedly agree on the Muppets album proclamation – best Christmas album ever and a longtime favorite in my family. The Christmas Is Coming round gets me every time!

  3. Girl after my own heart, you truly are my daughter. I listened to Andrea Boccelli’s Christmas album this morning, I think it is a comfort thing for us.

  4. It must be a Hooley girl thing…my love of Barbra Streisand’s Jingle Bells was handed down from Ellen…and I, too, have a hard time not playing it before November. But, my favorite all-time is Neil Diamond’s “The Christmas Album”. 🙂

Leave a Reply

