The Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Year

Alexander had a terrible, horrible, no good, very bad day.

Oh, Alexander, I feel your pain.

Times 365.

This was the terrible, horrible, no good, very bad year.

In hindsight, I should have seen where things were headed when my mom landed in the ER, and then the ICU, last New Year’s Eve. I should have just crawled back into bed, wearing the same nasty yoga pants and sweatshirt I’d pulled on that morning, pulled up the covers, and said “see you in 2011.”

OK, maybe I’m exaggerating.

A bit.

But not much.

In thinking about this entry (which, trust me, has been bopping around in my head for about, oh, 8 months now), I was tempted to list all of the truly craptastic things that happened this year. The doctors, the hospitals, the sadness.

Damn, really. Where did all the frigging sadness come from? Almost everyone I know shed way too many tears this year. (Right up to and through today, as a matter of fact, which just makes me want to throw my hands up and say, “Seriously? We are crying ‘uncle’ down here. Can someone catch a break?”)

Anyways, that’s where the list ends. Partially because most of you reading this blog have already been there, done that. No reminders necessary. But also because we can’t change what’s already happened.

All we can do is look around at the many, many blessings we have — lots of which showed up even in this disaster of a year — and look ahead to what is bound to be a brighter 2011.

So let’s break out the Ballatore, pour some glasses, and say a toast:

“Happy New Year! And 2010, don’t let the door hit your ass on the way out.”

3 thoughts on “The Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Year

  1. Alexander is one of Ben and Matt’s favorite books and I couldn’t agree more Michele. 2010 has caused so much pain and sadness for so may of our close friends, including you and B. Cancer, other illness and deaths, enough already! I cannot think of one “stellar” event from 2010. Let’s bring on 2011..good riddance 2010.

  2. I think out anyone i know ur 2010 was the worst. You and b dont deserve it. My 2010 started off great bit not ending too well. With said i am do have a lot to be blessef for. Hoping 2011 is much better for the both us. Love u

Leave a Reply

