“Oh, YOU’LL Find This Funny”

I was fortunate to be raised in a family that can (and often does) laugh until we cry, and sometimes cry until we laugh. My sense of humor was undoubtedly shaped by my Uncle Len, who aimed to make me laugh until I practically hyperventilated – and often succeeded. (And he still does. I cracked up all over again a couple of weeks ago at the story of when my grandmother flung oatmeal in his face when he wouldn’t eat his breakfast.)

Obviously there are some times when you just can’t laugh — but not many (see, “cry until you laugh,” above). Except Game 7 of the 2003 ALCS. I will NEVER laugh about that night, not even when I fall every.single.time into the “it was only a game” trap that my aunts love to set, which unfailingly sends them into roaring laughter. (For the record, it was NOT only a game, it was the horrible, awful, no good end to months I’d spent devoted to a team, and then I had to walk through a huge hotel filled with asshole Yankees fans while wearing a Sox t-shirt.)

So I was thrilled twice this week by emails from friends that played right into my sense of humor.

The first, from a friend at work, came in two parts.

The first email, in response to a meeting I was setting up: “What the hell? Why are you setting up more meetings?”

Followed by: “OMG, that didn’t come across as joking….good thing you are the most sarcastic person I’ve ever met and can tell.”

There’s praise, and then there’s high praise, I tell you.

And then tonight, links to a couple of blog posts with the warning, “My boss came into my office today and thought I was crying because I was laughing so hard at these.” I love when people crack up like that, and then think of me.

And yes, I am passing the links to the blog along, because seriously, you’ve gotta read them. (Some of you may have already read at least one, which I think made its way around on Facebook last week.) Then go back and read the banana story that’s on her home page. I challenge you not to snort. So read this, and this, and then this.

And yeah, if you don’t find those stories funny….well, I have a warped sense of humor, what can I say.

Other than I now really want a 5-foot metal chicken.

4 thoughts on ““Oh, YOU’LL Find This Funny”

  1. I think I must have sensed the same twisted and sick sense of humor in you when we met years ago! Just remember, a hug is like a strangle you haven’t finished yet . . . 🙂

Leave a Reply

