Thanks, Bethenny

I love Bethenny. I’m not ashamed to say it. She was my favorite part of the Real Housewives of New York City, I drank Skinnygirl margaritas back when I could (and will be excited to try some of her new flavors just as soon as I can get back on that liquor-swilling horse), and I had a season pass on the Tivo for Bethenny Ever After.

Yes, she’s a little over the top, and yes, being honest and out there is part of her attention-getting/profit-making shtick. But I was watching the Today show the day a few months ago when she was asked about having more kids, and ended up disclosing that she’d recently had a miscarriage – and it seemed pretty clear to me that she wasn’t sharing that news as a way to pad her hefty, Jim Beam-sponsored bank account. In fact, it didn’t seem like she expected to share it at all.

But I’m really glad that she did.

And even if the timing is a bit suspect – her new talk show started last week – I’m glad she’s written a column for Glamour about her miscarriage, and that she’s spending time on her show talking about it, too.

She’s absolutely right when she says there’s a code of silence among women who have had miscarriages. It shouldn’t be that way, but it is. Except to a few select people, our miscarriages were unexplained medical absences from work, migraines, personal days – anything but the truth.

They’re easier to talk about now, now that we’ve gotten this far.

Easier. Not easy.

I’d like to post Bethenny’s column on Facebook, where I could post this same message and many more people would get the chance to read it. After all, I don’t hesitate to post articles by cancer survivors; why not one from someone who’s had a miscarriage, if it could help other people?

The answer is: I don’t know. Posting it here feels like a big enough step for now. Maybe I’ll get there one day.

(In the meantime, if you’re so inclined, feel free to do what I don’t have the courage to and link to Bethenny’s article.)

Leave a Reply

