7 Quick Takes, Take II

After my last random musings post, my friend Karen alerted me to the fact that lists of seven random things are actually a real thing on blogs (and/or that I’m not nearly as clever as I’d given myself credit for). And since I’ve not gotten around to writing a full post yet again, and it’s almost Friday (the 7 Quick Takes day for most bloggers who do it), I figured why not? So, here goes:

1.       I’ve read (what feels like) a million stories and blog posts on Marissa Mayer’s plan to take an abbreviated maternity leave. I thought about writing my own post to add to the noise, but then realized that I don’t know what to think about this, not yet having had, you know, my own baby or taken my own leave.

That said…on the one hand, it seems totally crazy to me to think that you can just bounce back and in two weeks, be back at work. On the other hand, “back at work” can mean lots of different things, and Mayer is going to have a full complement of staff to support her, both at home and at work. Maybe she’ll be working from home, in a fully appointed home office. Maybe she’ll have a nursery suite in her office at Yahoo, where she’ll bring the baby and her stay-at-home husband, and her nanny. Who knows.

And, she’s the CEO. For better or for worse, CEOs are expected to put work first. She knew she was pregnant when she tossed her hat into the ring for the job, and she knew what the job entailed when she took it. From what I’ve read, it sounds like her husband is going to be at home, at least for now (in between making his venture capital investments). It’s not the choice I would have made, but that’s why I’m not going to be a CEO anytime soon (OK, maybe that’s not the only reason, but it’s a start). I knew what I was doing when I took my new job, too – I actively looked for a job where I wouldn’t be expected to be on 24/7, with the explicit interest in putting my life first. Would we criticize a guy taking a CEO job a few months before his baby was born, if his wife was planning to be a stay-at-home mom? Nope.

2.       The heat goes on. What more to say, other than that? And that I really liked last Saturday, when it was “cold” and rainy and the weather justified eating soup. Oh, and that Metro can bite me if they think I’m not carrying water with me when it’s 100 degrees out.

3.       We have been very fortunate to have received a lot of the immediate stuff we need for the Player to be Named Later, which has freed me and B up to buy a bunch of … less necessary things, like bats and hats and maps. I am maybe a little too excited about the baby book. Talk to me six months from now when all but the first page is blank.

4.       Parks and Rec filmed in DC last week. I didn’t get to see the cast on location, but I am dorkily excited about seeing the episode when it airs. Of course, then we’ll also be criticizing how fake their DC is, like when the West Wing did an episode with no traffic on Memorial Bridge.

5.       The Lego Wire. I could say more, but you really must watch for yourself. Shiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiit.

6.       My enthusiasm for new gallbladder diet recipes has waned. I find myself eating basically the same stuff every day – oatmeal, protein shakes, protein-plumped pasta, fish, grilled chicken, edamame, rice and beans, Kashi Dark Chocolate Cherry granola bars, fruit, fruit, more fruit, green juice, more fruit, angel food cake, chocolate sorbet, cool whip, cool whip, and more cool whip. BOR-ing.  Though I did make the devil dog cake tonight, because…

7.       The Olympics start tomorrow! I’m excited for two weeks of non-stop swimming, gymnastics and biathlon coverage, but even more excited for two weeks of pictures of London. Tower Bridge just never gets old:

Leave a Reply

