New Year’s Resolution: CHILL.

It’s the time of year when we’re supposed to reflect on the year gone by, and the year ahead, and what goals we want to achieve over the next 12 months.

I’ve never been particularly big on new year’s resolutions. I have a strange combination of lacking willpower, fierce competitiveness, and type-A-goals-are-my-life world view that makes resolutions a big failure in many different ways for me. I never stick to the “I will go to the gym four times a week” resolutions, and yet, my life is littered with to-do lists.

So, I don’t have any particularly specific resolutions for 2013. Sure, it would be nice to get to the gym four times a week, but let’s all just be honest here and admit that that probably won’t be happening any year soon. It would also be nice to sit down – at a table – to a hot dinner a few times a week, but I think Teddy moving on to table food later this year will do more to make that happen than any goal I set now (Clar is eagerly awaiting this development, of course). And we are still working on turning the TV off – more on that in a future post.

All that said, though,  I do have one goal in mind for this year: chill out. Or, more specifically, stay chilled out. I’ve surprised even myself with my (relatively) less high-strung attitude since Teddy was born, due in no small part to him being a pretty mellow baby and having lots of time to get to Target wherever we’re going.

Part one of the test comes in two weeks, when I go back to work. How in the world will I accomplish by 7:45 a.m. everything that today takes until 11 a.m. (or later, some days) to get done? And maybe even throw on some makeup for good measure? Part two comes two weeks after that, when I have to both get myself ready and get us out the door by 7:45 for daycare. Yikes. I can feel my blood pressure rising just thinking about it.

Which is why I have to keep remembering to chill out. Everything hasn’t been perfect up until now – there was the day I went out to do lots of errands wearing a shirt that had been peed on – and it won’t be once my leave ends. I know everyone else has gone through this and figured it out and come out OK on the other side, and we’ll figure it out, too.

Until then, if I can’t make it to the gym, maybe I should find my way back to the yoga mat…

One thought on “New Year’s Resolution: CHILL.

Leave a Reply

