The Things I Want to Remember (the 19 month version)

This post, brought to you in a blatant rip-off of a post by Stephanie Dulli. Because as much as everything that’s happening today — this week, this month — with Teddy feels indelible, I know how quickly it will fade into my memory, to be replaced by the next big (or small) milestone.

Meanwhile, the tools I used to “remember” things early on aren’t quite cutting it anymore. The baby book sits carefully protected in its beautiful box in the closet, last touched around the kiddo’s first birthday, while the camera is resigned to capturing the whirling dervish of a toddler, running from room to room, content no more to just sit and smile. No longer can I look at a picture snapped on my phone and know exactly what was happening that day…that week…that month.

One of many in my photo album that look like this.

One of many in my photo album that look like this.

So, a few of the things I want to remember as Teddy passes the 19-month mark (which I’m pretty much just calling “a year and a half” now, because trying to remember the month count seems like too much work once there’s shorthand):

  • That thanks to my kid’s broken Spanish, I figured out where Zappos got its name. There are no shoes in our house. There are only “zappos.”
  • That in his world, a wink and a hard double blink worthy of I Dream of Jeannie are one and the same, and are the ultimate tool of flirtation. He has also figured out that such a move is completely disarming to a mom who’s otherwise annoyed by yet another cup of milk tossed from the table.
Isn't this how you wink?

Isn’t this how you wink?

  • That sometimes you just need to stop for a Cheerios snack break halfway up the stairs.
  • That bubbles can be so very exciting that they are worthy of the yell “BUBBLES!!!” Before we’ve even gone outside. Before he’s seen the outside of his crib. At 5:30 a.m.
  • That even having to change a nasty diaper late at night isn’t terrible because it comes with a good excuse to snuggle with him while leaving his window open to air out the stench.
I'll take the snuggles however I can get them. Though he looks a lot sweeter here than his room smelled.

I’ll take the snuggles however I can get them. Though he looks a lot sweeter here than his room smelled.

6 thoughts on “The Things I Want to Remember (the 19 month version)

  1. such a sweet post and i completely relate! glad i can live (and remember) my experiences vicariously through your writing 🙂

  2. I love love this post and the idea of capturing the moments because it’s so true! It’s so true that when we’re in the moment, we’re completely absorbed by a new word, a new cute gesture, a new sleep pattern, but then, later, it’s hard to remember when exactly x happened. Also? Bubbles are ALWAYS cool. Er, well, maybe not before the sun’s up. But they’re pretty dang cool.

Leave a Reply

