Reverb: A Summertime/Slightly Past Mid-Year Check-In

I recently found Sarah Bagley’s blog, about her “recovery from perfectionism” and her efforts at living a B+ life. That message has resonated with this recovering perfectionist, and I’ve been eating up Sarah’s posts and podcasts. (Gratuitous Listen to Your Mother mention: she was in the Baltimore show, where she talked about her very special relationship with her grandmother.)

Sarah also helps coordinate Project Reverb, which comes up with monthly writing prompts to help bloggers reflect on how things are going. I’m jumping in…with a bit of a tweak.

This month’s prompt asks how the summer’s going. I’ll take it a step further and take stock of how the year’s going so far. Why stop at just one season?

For the record, the goals I set back in January were:

  • Buy jeans that fit.
  • Turn on the crock pot.
  • Open (and finish) a book.
  • Hire a babysitter.
  • Get organized!
  • Get on the treadmill.
  • Let go of some guilt.

Now more than halfway through the year, all things weather-toddler-pregnancy-house considered, I don’t think I’m doing all that badly. Though true to my goal-setting nature, there’s still plenty of room for improvement.

Buy jeans that fit. Well, the new jeans fit for a couple of months, at least. Now I’m back in the maternity ones that do no one any favors, but if I’m not spending big money on good jeans when I’m not pregnant, I’m sure as hell not buying designer maternity jeans.

Turn on the crock pot. Check! Okay, I’ve pinned more crock pot recipes than I’ve actually made, but I consider plugging it in and throwing the same chicken-black bean-corn-salsa combo in there every week or so a success.

Open (and finish) a book. Check! I’ve opened more than I’ve finished, but it has been really nice to rediscover my love of reading. I actually have a D.C. library card! That I’ve used! Next step: reading books that aren’t just about kids and home-life balance (though, really, Jennifer Senior’s All Joy and No Fun and Brigid Schulte’s Overwhelmed are both worth blog posts in their own right). Any good summertime suggestions?

Hire a babysitter. Check! OK, so we’ve only gone out a couple of times. But that’s more than we did last year. We’ve gone the hired-sitter route, the friend-as-sitter route, and now belong to a neighborhood babysitting co-op. With the next player to be named later arriving in just three short months, though, we need to actually start using the co-op.

Get organized. Eh. We’re building two new closets in the basement. Does that count?

Get on the treadmill. Sorta-kinda? I did manage to run/walk a bunch of times before the first-tri exhaustion-nausea combo knocked me for a loop, and again a couple of times (walking, sloooowwwwly) once that let up but before construction started. Now? The treadmill is unplugged and sitting behind boxes of heavy floor tile in the unfinished section of the basement. So I’ve traded in my sneakers for a floatation belt. That’s right, people, I’m back to water aerobics. It’s just me and a handful of older ladies in bathing caps, floating around the pool. (Seriously, though, I love water aerobics and would do it regularly if there were actually a cool class to attend. But I can’t wait for the basement to be finished so I can resume my pathetically slow walks, too.)

Let go of some guilt. Shoulda, coulda, woulda might as well be my tagline. At the start of the year, I was feeling torn about not doing more to volunteer. But I had to take honest stock: right now, Teddy and B and kiddo #2 have to take priority. Being a facilitator for my thyroid cancer support group doesn’t feel like I’m doing a ton, but it’s what I’m cut out for right now, and that just needs to be enough.

And the summer? Yeah, the summer’s going great.

With treats like these, how can you go wrong?

With treats like these, how can you go wrong?

2 thoughts on “Reverb: A Summertime/Slightly Past Mid-Year Check-In

  1. I LOVE this idea! I am stealing it!
    My other thought is that you have such a conversational writing voice. I find that every time I read it, it feels like I’m sitting across from you at the table. I’ll have to check out Project Reverb. I have listened to and enjoyed Sarah’s podcasts, too, though I’m not sure I’m fully ready to let go of that perfectionist tendency. I have issues. 🙂

    • Oh, Callie, join the club. I’d love to say that I’m a recoverED perfectionist, but I’m so not. Motherhood has made me let go of some of my tendencies but many others are hanging on for dear life! And yes, please join Project Reverb with us! Sarah would love to have you. Can’t wait to actually be sitting at the table with you, catching up, next month!

Leave a Reply

