Three Good Things, Vol. 4

Three things I loved this week:

  • The hipster cocktail party station on Pandora. Despite the fact that I am neither a hipster nor throwing cocktail parties anytime soon. It’s perfect music for cooking, and while it really does demand a glass of cold white wine or a martini, a non-alcoholic club soda and juice with a lime drink does okay in a pinch.
  • Supreme Court Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg’s quote: “I had a life partner who thought my work was as important as his, and I think that made all the difference for me.” So true. I’m fortunate to be in the same position – though I can’t imagine having married someone who didn’t value my work (even if he doesn’t exactly read every paper I edit on the federal budget).
  • The first episode I watched of “Chasing Life.” I’m catching on late to this series about a 24-year-old journalist (in Boston!) living with and through a cancer diagnosis. At first I thought it was schmaltzy (though, hello! Faye from Wings is the grandmother!), but a scene about how she wanted to share her diagnosis (or not) with her co-workers struck a chord with me. It’s no 50/50, but it seems like it’s worth catching up through On Demand.

Good things happen every day.

Three things I learned this week:

  • Soon, Pinterest may rival Google as a search engine, according to Fresh Air. And you thought Pinterest was just created to make you feel bad about your lack of creativity.
  • How to create (and launch) a Facebook page for the blog! What, you say, you haven’t been to the FB page for A Storybook Life? Well, what are you waiting for? (It only took me four years to post anything about the blog on FB, and now I’m jumping in with both feet. It’s a little scary, but scary-good. I think.)

Three things I was thankful for this week:

  • Compression socks. These babies, which I used to help with the ridiculous elephant-leg swelling I had with Teddy, are keeping my annoying restless leg syndrome at bay. They are miracle workers in opaque white, very tight lycra. They look fabulous with my getting-too-small t-shirts and low-slung running shorts as my current bedtime outfit. Pregnancy is so glamorous. (Hey, at least I haven’t resorted to the Breathe Right strips and eye mask I used the last time, too…yet.)
  • An email from a long-ago friend who read my post about my annoying gallbladder diet – who turns out to herself be dealing with gallstones during her second pregnancy. Reinforcing, again, that we’re all in this together. (And the corollary, that I’m not crazy to think that this diet blows.)
  • Being added to the “Ten Things of Thankful” blog hop. It’s a chance to link these Three Good Things posts to a whole group of other weekly gratitude blogs. It’s a great chance to find new readers, yes, but for me, it’s also an uplifting exercise to see what other people were thankful for this week — and to remind me that I can be on the lookout for some of the same things in my own life.

And in this week’s installment of Listen to Your Mother videos, I give you Ann Imig, the creator of Listen to Your Mother. I thought this one was on the money for a post about gratitude.

What did you love, learn, and feel thankful for this week?

31 thoughts on “Three Good Things, Vol. 4

  1. I’ll have to check out the hipster cocktail party station on Pandora. I have been listening to the Ingrid Michealson station for years now, but it’s probably time for a change.
    Also, compression socks sound fabulous!

    • I love Ingrid Michaelson! Now that her current song is all over the radio, I feel like everyone has found my secret, or something. Cheering you on from DC tomorrow! Way to go!

  2. I, for one, bet you look adorable in your bedtime outfit accessorized with compression socks. All you need is some Super Buns!! I hope you’re feeling well and I so agree that a partner who supports our work is so so important. Congratulations on your new FB page! And I had to use breathe-right strips, too. Sigh.
    YAY to adding these to the TToT hop!! (also Finish the Sentence Friday is live, if you’re interested. Next one is in 2 weeks)

    • I’m not alone in Breathe Right hotness? So good to know! 🙂 And yes, I think some new SUPERBUNS! would really complete the outfit. We’ll need to get Callie on it.

    • Lizzi, I’m sure it’s a really scientific survey…not exactly! Syracuse is none too proud of the title and would be much happier without the list at all!

      • Lol it made it into Rich Rumple’s TToT (if you make it that far)…

        I shall stick to enjoying that my country’s university heritage seems to be more of the punting and rugby set 🙂 #Oxbridge

  3. Compression stockings in the summer. How very hot and uncomfortable. Good thing you have great music and TV to ease it. I’ll check them both out.

    • Ha! I just got a picture of myself rocking out to hipster cocktail party music while wearing the compression socks. Maybe with some fashionable hipster shoes. 🙂

  4. Welcome to the TToT!
    So funny that you mentioned your attendance at the #1 party school. A friend of mine recently posted that our college has moved up the list to #11. I wonder how many teens pick their school based on this list. 🙂
    Your description of your nighttime look cracked me up. I had the misfortune of wearing compression leggings recently when I had knee surgery. I could picture you perfectly, as I looked very similar for a while there, minus the baby bump.
    Good luck with the FB page! I always forget to post on mine.

  5. Hey! My friend Dana from Kiss My List was on Listen to Your Mother! 🙂 I’ve never heard of that show on ABC Family but it does sound pretty interesting. I think we are going to probably watch that new show Scorpion coming on with all the different types of people in a group that will help with solving crimes. We liked Leverage so I’m thinking me and hubby might like this one, too. How far along are you in this pregnancy. I’m just starting to pooch out just a tad but I’m just starting the 2nd trimester so I guess that’s to be expected. 🙂

  6. Glad you joined the TToT! Sounds like our universities are polar opposites: my alma mater is the #1 “Stone Cold Sober” school for the 17th straight year! (And I don’t think Brigham Young University is in any danger of losing their #1 spot anytime soon/ever!) 🙂

  7. Welcome to the TToT
    It has been said (in some circles in the blogosphere), about the TToT, “…really? and they manage to incorporate videos, have Secret Rules and something about GuardVirgins? Surely it must be the hottest of bloghops in the ‘sphere!.”*

    * some of the above quote has been enhanced and edited for interestability other portions are true, by most measures of rhetoric.

  8. I did hear that Syracuse has taken the party crown. Congrats! I loved the LTYM video. There were so many good ones and I still haven’t gotten to see all the ones I want to yet. Thank you for sharing this one…it was a perfect fit.

    • I know! When I saw it, all I could think of was using it for one of these posts. So many great LTYM videos to get through – trying to take my time so I can really appreciate them!

    • I just got back from a week at the beach, where the hipster cocktail party station didn’t seem quite right (went with “laid-back beach music” instead). Now it’s time to get the cocktail party music going again. Really sets the mood for unpacking and post-vacation laundry.

  9. Well, I came over here and picked up not one, but TWO new Pandora stations to check out. Awesome!
    I am definitely not a hipster and I rarely (OK never) have a cocktail party, but this music is perfect! Two songs in and I’m hooked. Off to check out the Indie dance party now.

Leave a Reply

