Three Good Things [10.04.14]

I’m back! Sort of. Despite collecting string for this post for, um, three weeks, and writing this for three days, it’s taken me until Saturday night to actually put it together. (See, baby-related senioritis/mind jumble.)

three good things

Nevertheless, plenty of good things have been happening lately, and I couldn’t keep you waiting any longer to find out what’s on my list.

Three things I loved this week(ish):

  • Weekly roundup posts. Okay, it’s a bit of a circular point in my own weekly roundup post, but I love reading other weekly roundups and lists of links. (It’s what led me to this idea, after all!) Besides introducing me to all sorts of new posts and people and ideas, I love the different angles that writers put on these posts. A few of my regular weekly reads:

The Friday Five, from A Mothership Down

Friday Snacks, from Kate Baer

Surfing Sunday, from Heather Spohr at The Spohrs Are Multiplying

Friday Favorites, from Project Underblog

  • The first pumpkin spice latte of the year. Yes, I should be making my own PSL syrup/creamer at home, but one day I just really really needed one. And damn, every sugar-filled, artificial ounce of that overpriced coffee totally hit the spot.
  • To my daughter, I will beg. A mother’s raw, honest post about teaching a daughter how to love her whole self after struggling to do the same herself. This ranks right up there among my greatest fears about having a daughter — how to teach her the lesson that I haven’t quite mastered yet, myself. N’tima’s post captured so much of my experience, and many of my fears and hopes. Well worth a read.

Three things I learned:

  • Rite Aid is partnering again with text4baby, the service that sends expectant and new parents text messages about parenting and child development, to offer free flu shots to text4baby subscribers. Text4baby is already doing a huge service for new parents; this makes it all the more valuable. (Insert well-intentioned nag here: Have you gotten your flu shot yet?)
  • A non-profit called QuestBridge has become a driving force behind securing college scholarships for high-achieving low-income high school students. Their push to reform the college financial aid system is daunting but has a huge upside.
  • After searching explicitly for bald breast cancer survivors to join Joan Lunden in kicking off Breast Cancer Awareness Month, the Today Show responded to the outcry from metastatic breast cancer patients — many of whom are undergoing grueling treatment that doesn’t result in hair loss — by doing a full segment on patients with metastatic, stage 4 cancer. Here’s how the week and the experience with Today went down for one blogger who was featured on the show. I’m glad Today listened to the constructive criticism, to the benefit of viewers and survivors alike.

Three things I felt grateful for:

  • MIT’s breast pump hackathon. As someone who’s once again facing – “looking forward to” is not exactly the right way to put it – hooking myself up to a pump hundreds of times once I’m back to work next year, I’m grateful for the 150 people who competed to up the breast pump game, even if the changes don’t come in time to make me feel less like a factory farm dairy cow. (Also, no surprise that the top teams featured women designers and engineers.)
  • Teddy’s birthday. He actually seemed to enjoy himself. I’m sure the ice cream and cake and toys helped, but it was great listening to him sing happy birthday to himself, and I was really happy that all four of his grandparents were here to celebrate with us. (He also now thinks that it’s my birthday whenever I get an Amazon package. Kind of, kid.)
  • Our neighborhood of generous parents. We had our bi-annual kids clothes swap this weekend. As I searched for elastic waist pants that would fit my short-legged child, I looked around the room at the mountains of clothes that had been donated for the swap and was reminded what a supportive neighborhood we moved into. (I also noticed how many other pregnant moms were there, and realized that kiddo #2 is going to have a lot of little potential pals in the neighborhood. Wow.)

What did you love, learn, or feel thankful for this week?

This post is part of the Ten Things of Thankful blog hop. Hop on over and see what other good things happened this week!

1ed57-tenthingsbanner

24 thoughts on “Three Good Things [10.04.14]

  1. Super great list.

    Also breast pumps…. my friend is currently breastfeeding and using the pump to build up a supply when she goes back…
    My daughter is nine years old and still just the sound of the breast pump makes my nipples and bewbies hurt.

  2. Awh I’m so happy you have a really supportive neighbourhood. That’s a really special thing. And friends your baby’s own age will be BRILLIANT 🙂 Definitely a big win, there.

  3. I love that your neighborhood does a clothing swap – things like that are what I wish we had here in my ‘hood, but well, we can walk by some of them, say hello, and not even have them say hi back. Weirdos. YAY for Teddy’s birthday, and his sweet baby self singing happy birthday to himself! Love that. I hope you’re feeling really really great and I cannot wait to meet Teddy’s little sister!

    • We really need to teach him another song, since he sings happy birthday ALL THE TIME. I think he’s trying to go platinum or something. And yes, we’ve lucked out with this neighborhood! But I was really glad to read your post about the community you’ve found – quality WAY trumps proximity.

  4. Ohhh, the breast pump! I lugged one back and forth to work with me for six months (home for the first four, then was allowed to give him regular milk during the day after his 9 month check-up, only nursing mornings and nights after that). Most of the people in my office were young and single, and the bottles of breast milk in the break room fridge freaked them out. Imagine if they had actually SEEN me hooked up to that milking machine in my office! And imagine if all the clients I talked to on the phone while I was pumping knew what I was doing at the time!

    I feel a little like Joan Lunden cheated, because she shaved her head before she ever started infusion chemo.

    • Oh, the lugging of the pump SUCKS (pun intended). I practically danced when I returned the rental pump I used the last time. Here’s hoping the hackathon results in some good improvements!

      • Here’s one for you, if you didn’t already know this: before you hook yourself up to the milker, rub a little olive oil over your nipples. Then it doesn’t hurt when they get sucked into the cup thingies and the olive oil won’t hurt the milk a bit (very little actually makes it to the milk anyway).

    • Thanks, Tricia! The swap has been such a hit in our neighborhood that the organizers are making it quarterly, rather than 2x/year. And the bonus is that we end up with a lot of clothes leftover to donate to area shelters.

  5. I never did a clothing swap, but I do miss the days of consignment shopping for my little ones. It’s just harder to do with teenagers. It was so much easier when they didn’t care what they wore!

    And baby-related mind jumble is totally a thing. I can’t use that as an excuse, so I need to come up with something!

Leave a Reply

