Right Now (the Maternity Leave Edition)

So….writing. Yeah. Not a whole lot of it going on these days, still, because a small person likes to nap on me. Still.

Three guesses as to where she was when this picture was taken.

Three guesses as to where she was when this picture was taken.

I’m sure there are all sorts of reasons why it’s a bad idea to let her sleep on me — many of which I could list myself if I wanted to try — but I’m looking past them. With Teddy, I realize now, I wished too many of these lazy snoozy hours away, and I know now just how fleeting they are. She has many more weeks and months (and years, I hope!) to nap in her crib. For now, I’m taking the baby snuggles where and when I can get them.

Here’s what else has been going on, with and without a babe in my arms:

[pinning] lots of new dairy-free recipes. We even managed to have a nearly dairy-free football party this weekend (but for the stromboli that *I* made). But…the fact that there’s lots of good non-dairy recipes on Pinterest doesn’t totally ease the sting of seeing all the mouth-wateringly butter-laden recipes that taunt me each time I open the site.

[listening] to the Sesame Street Pandora station. “Ernie, mama, Ernie. More Ernie, mama, more Ernie.” So much for those vows that my kids would listen to my music in the car.

[also listening] to too much Taylor Swift. Ugh. I am ashamed of myself. But Blank Space? Total earworm.

[watching] the new Pop network, the former TVGN. It has sucked me in with such quality programming as “90210: Where Are They Now?” and the backstory of Everybody Loves Raymond (and, of course, the continued 90210 marathons on Tuesdays). It may even give HGTV a run for its money as my default station, and that’s saying a lot.

[visiting] potential preschools for Teddy. Is it really possible that my kid is going to walk in a line, sit in a circle and be able to tell me that potatoes grow under ground (as one kid said on a visit last week, “you have to dig really deep to find them!”) in 8 short months?

[gearing up] to hostย a Super Bowl party in 12 days. My favorite way to spend the first weekend of February, baking up a whoopie pie cake (in the shape of a Patriots helmet, no less) and rocking my Vince Wilfork jersey. Bring it on.

This confection, brought to you by the Boston Globe cookbook, circa 1970, and a Patriots helmet cake pan. DO YOUR JOB, whoopie pie cake.

This confection, brought to you by the Boston Globe cookbook, circa 1970, and a Patriots helmet cake pan. DO YOUR JOB, whoopie pie cake.

What’s happening in your world?

14 thoughts on “Right Now (the Maternity Leave Edition)

  1. Mmmmmmm. Superbowl party.

    We haven’t decided if we are hosting a party this year or attending, but I think that perhaps we won’t because I just realized that I have to travel that night to be ready for PD the next day. *sigh* That kinda makes me cranky.

    Anyway – trying to get it together. That’s all we are doing over here. Making a football helmet shaped whoopie pie would be so much more fun!

  2. Sigh – I really thought this might be the year for the Denver Broncos in which case I’d throw a huge party. I’d have not been making a helmet cake because I’m not awesome that way but yours looks amazing! And enjoy Katie’s snuggles now. I so miss those days with my son!! xxoo

    • Is it possible to pre-miss snuggles? I miss them with Teddy so much that I think I’m binging on them with Katie! See also, binge-eating helmet cake on Sunday…:)

Leave a Reply

