Three Good Things [10.01.15]

Yay, October’s here! Yay for pumpkin everything, sweater weather, and two big milestone birthdays in our house at the end of the month. Boo for a possible hurricane aiming at us for the weekend and missing October baseball in both Boston and D.C. The sweater weather that follows this hurricane had better be damn crisp to make up for a month without playoff baseball…again.

But, on balance, October rocks. As Lucy Maud Montgomery wrote, “I’m so glad to live in a world where there are Octobers.”

by ben regazi

Three things I loved in the last month:

  • Connie Britton. OK, I love Connie Britton every day of every month (and have since her Brothers McMullen days). Yes, her hair is gorgeous, and yes, she starred in my second-favorite show of all time. But I love her most for her willingness to say what she really thinks. “When used regularly, feminism has been known to produce amazing results.” Really, y’all.
  • Two profiles of Billy Joel. I’ve loved Billy forever, too, and I’ll continue to pay ridiculous ticket prices to see him sit at a piano and belt out “Allentown” and “The Downeaster Alexa” and “We Didn’t Start the Fire.” (Though not “Honesty,” okay? I really don’t like that one.) Anyway, these profiles from the New York Times Magazine and the New Yorker are both a little old, but fascinating. Someday I’ll get to see him at Madison Square Garden. Someday.
Three things I learned:
  • Fetal microchimerism. Fancy term for kind of a crazy fact of life: it turns out that after pregnancy, the baby leaves some cells behind, and they can reside in the mother’s tissues for decades. So when your mother tells you that you’re always with her in her heart, she’s telling you the truth. You are IN her heart.
  • Last month was the 30th anniversary of the Golden Girls. Can anyone not break out into “Thank You for Being a Friend?” Here’s the story behind the famous theme song.
  • And maybe I’m the only person out there who has strong, visceral reactions to font choices, but count me among the people who really don’t like what Google’s done with its logo. This article explains why you might not like it, either.

Three things I felt thankful for:

  • New ThyCa volunteers. I’ve been a co-facilitator of our area thyroid cancer support group for a few years, but the combination of two kids + crazy schedules has made it tough for me to dedicate the time to the group that facilitation requires (and deserves). I had to tell myself what I’d tell a friend: you can’t do everything all at the same time. I’m grateful that other members of our group have been willing to take my place at the monthly meetings.
  • Weekly notes and pictures from Teddy’s teachers. We get daily reports of how he’s participating and behaving (he’s “doing his best to learn the classroom rules”), but I’ve really appreciated seeing him and his new buddies in action through the dozens of pictures his teachers send to us every week. They also help answer some key questions, such as “so that’s why you came home with paint on your face that day.”
  • Two new healthy babies in our family. Welcome, Adele and Emerson! Your crazy families are so, so glad you’re here.

What have you loved, learned, and felt grateful for this month?

8 thoughts on “Three Good Things [10.01.15]

  1. I am jealous that Teddy’s school sends home all those notes! I get info on the important things (like why she might be hyper and why there is frosting all over her face, and where that egg on her head came from), but I am left guessing about quite a lot. When I ask “How was school?” I get “You don’t want to know.” What!??? Isn’t it early for that!? Although my preschooler’s school emailed us an awesome list of alternative questions to ask your kid, other than “How was school.” ie) Who shared with you today? Who did you help today? What made you laugh today? etc. They work on preschoolers AND husbands. haha. I LOVED the thing about the Golden Girls theme (I really, really love that song)… And this month, I have loved riding my preschooler to school by bike, I am grateful that the baby slept ALL night last night, and I learned that we don’t need as many toys as we have. I was inspired by a friend’s minimalist style and am now on a cleaning binge. So, I have loved loading up my car and unloading at Goodwill, too:) Oh yeah, and I loved reading this post!

    • The baby slept ALL night? Can I have her give Katie a call with some tips? We are also toy purging (and general “stuff” purging). It’s so true that the more you have, the more mental & physical energy you spend maintaining it. We just don’t need that much!

  2. Emerson! I love it. That has always been the name I wanted for a child (since high school!) however it didn’t win this round. If I ever have another child, fingers crossed he/she will be Emerson.

    I can’t wait to check out some of your links.

  3. Yes! I’m so grateful Nashville is back. I watched Friday Night Lights for the first time (and in a major marathon) this summer. Now I have even more of an appreciation for Connie. Only knew her from Nashville. Glad Scandal is back too!

    • Another Nashville fan! (Or as I call it, Trashville.) I remember you binging on FNL over the summer – simply a fantastic show. I definitely recommend her in the Ed Burns movies, too.

Leave a Reply

