Stitch Fix Review #6 – April 2016

Stitch Fix Review #6, A Storybook Life, Pixley Edmond Henley Knit Top, Daniel Rainn Bellaire Crew Neck Blouse, Margaret M Emer Printed Straight Leg Pant, London Times Bela Jersey Maxi Dress, Urban Expressions Elisha Zipper Accent Structured Satchel

Spring is here! Well, kind of. We had snowflakes in the air on Saturday, and it hailed. But spring is definitely coming. And that means it’s time to ditch the dark clothes and heavy scarves. Bring on the color! And that’s where Stitch Fix #6 comes in.

Before the pictures and the reviews, a quick reminder of how Stitch Fix works. You fill out an online style profile, based on which a stylist chooses five items (clothes, jewelry, and/or accessories) to send. You pay a $20 styling fee, which covers the cost of the stylist and shipping, and if you keep anything, you apply the $20 toward the cost of the item(s). If you keep all five, you get a 25% discount on the whole box! (You send whatever you don’t want back in a pre-paid envelope.) 

You can read my reviews of my earlier Fixes here. Last month, I kept two of the five pieces, a striped top with fun detailing and a new clutch for nights out. I wore them both on our anniversary date night out!

This month I requested casual dresses, colored pants or jeans, and a bag to serve as a carry-all for work and kid and weekend stuff. And, as usual, I repeated my plea for bright colors and petites. I was glad to see that I had Shelby as my stylist again. How did she deliver?

Hint: let’s just say that when I peeked at what was on the way (because you know I can’t wait), I thought this box might be my first 5/5. And then my wallet cringed, even as I did a little dance of excitement.

Stitch Fix review, A Storybook Life, Pixley, Daniel Rainn, Urban Expressions, Margaret M, London Times

Pixley Edmond Henley Knit Top ($54)

I’d pinned this top in a couple of different colors, and I love the version that Shelby sent. Interestingly enough, this is the one non-petite item in this Fix, and it still fits like a dream. Super soft, versatile (you’d better believe I’ll be wearing this to the office), and brightly colored. It’s a keeper.

Verdict: Keep!

Daniel Rainn Bellaire Crew Neck Blouse ($64)

Shelby noted that she sent this because she’d noticed I’m a fan of polka dots from my Pinterest board. Very true! She also thought it would go well with the colored pants she sent – also true. (I’ve also styled it here with a new bracelet from Rocksbox that goes with just about everything I own. Interested in trying Rocksbox? Use my code MICHELEVBFF1 for a free month!)

But like the houndstooth blouse from Fix #2, the off-white color in this blouse just washes me out. If this came in a different color combination, I’d be a fan.

Verdict: Return

Margaret M Emer Printed Straight Leg Pant ($98)

Ah, the “Emers.” People are HUGE fans of these pants on the Stitch Fix boards, with good reason. They’re comfortable (no buttons or zippers) and they come in a ton of different lengths and colors. Shelby fulfilled my request for colored pants big time with these. But for almost $100, these would need to be perfect, and the bunching at the knee and the fact that I don’t have a whole lot to go with them keeps them just shy of the mark.

Verdict: Return

London Times Bela Jersey Maxi Dress ($68)

Shelby found yet another of my pins! I’ve never had a maxi dress before, but it feels like this should be the year. I was torn on this one – on the one hand, a maxi dress that fits in the length and is nice enough to wear to work. On the other hand, the arm holes are too big and I really don’t want to wear a tank top underneath. I found this on sale at JC Penney and was considering asking for a price match (or just buying it outright there) but I decided that even at a lower price, I don’t want a dress hanging around that I won’t wear a ton, so back it goes.

But not before I model it with my new denim jacket! Yes, I finally found a denim jacket. The one that I’d suspected months ago would work but didn’t want to commit to, at Loft. Got it on sale, it’s the right color, it’s the right length. Hooray! I knew you were worried there for a minute.

Verdict: Return

Urban Expressions Elisha Zipper Accent Structured Satchel ($64)

Speaking of found treasure, my bag woes are over. I’ve found it – the bag that can carry all the kid stuff, the bag that can carry all the work stuff, the bag that will be the perfect carry on for my girls weekend getaway. I’d pinned this long ago and held out hope that it would come my way. Look at those pockets! The lining! The cross-body strap! And the COLOR. It’s perfect.

Verdict: Keep!

The final tally: Another 2/5. Which is perfect for me (and my wallet). I know I’ll get tons of use out of these two pieces. What do you think of what I kept and what I sent back?

Disclaimer: This post isn’t sponsored by Stitch Fix, and I pay for whatever I keep. But if you’re interested in trying Stitch Fix and you sign up using my referral link, I’ll receive a small credit to use toward future purchases when your first Fix ships. Thanks!

Want to see my past Stitch Fix reviews?

And, if you’re like me and can’t get enough of Stitch Fix reviews, visit the Stitch Fix review link up hosted by Maria from Kinder Craze and Crazy Together.

Share-Pics-Of-Your-Fix-Button

14 thoughts on “Stitch Fix Review #6 – April 2016

  1. LOVE the bag! I think you might really like Jag pants. They have them in petite, no buttons or zippers, insanely comfy. You can find them online, at Nordstrom… they have them in a little boutique near me, too. I also LOVE the super soft shirt. I have a scarf like that:) It feels so good to wear things that look AND feel like a dream.

Leave a Reply

