What I’d Do With Fun Money

A Storybook Life

Tax Day is behind us, and we had no great windfall — or liability — to speak of. I know that’s the goal — that you’re not supposed to want to get a big chunk of change back in April, but it would still be nice to “find” some money that isn’t already spoken for. My mind runs wild with ideas of what we could do with it.

Kelsey and Chris at Matrimoney played a game in a recent episode of their podcast: what would you do with an extra $100, $1,000, $10,000, $100,000, and $1 million? The only rule is that you can’t put it toward bills or investments. Assume you have no debt. This is fun money. And what fun I’d have…

With $100, I’d: Get a babysitter and actually go to the movies. With snacks. (Related: that this takes $100 would be the reason why the last movie B and I saw together in a theater was Lincoln, when Teddy was 6 weeks old.)

With $1,000, I’d: Donate a year of diapers to the DC Diaper Bank. Buy good tickets to a Sox-Orioles game at Camden Yards, with plenty of pre-game beers at Pickles, mid-game pulled pork at Boog’s, and a nice hotel in the Inner Harbor. (This is clearly a fantasy as it assumes free babysitting.)

With $10,000, I’d: Take a big trip. A BIG one. Either two weeks in Hawaii, with our own little cottage on the beach on Kauai and/or the Big Island, or a villa in Tuscany. First-class seats on the plane to make long flights with small kids tolerable. Plenty of mai tais and fish tacos in Hawaii or good red wine and copious pizza in Italy. I’d split what was left over between ThyCa, which is improving the lives of thyroid cancer survivors and their caregivers, and BREW, which gave us almost ten years with the best beagle ever.

With $100,000, I’d: Finally buy a new car to replace our 1997 Altima. Redo the kitchen. Take the kids to Disney World and hope that they have even a fraction of the amount of fun there that their dad and I do. Give whatever’s left to the Remembrance Scholarship fund at Syracuse, in honor of the 35 SU students who died in Pam Am 103 over Lockerbie, Scotland, on December 21, 1988.

With $1 million, I’d: Buy a second house in Boston. Take all the vacations above, and tack on a bunch of baseball trips. Maybe see a second movie. Get my hair blown out professionally every week. Give the rest to the Dana-Farber Cancer Institute and the Jimmy Fund, because I will always be grateful for what they’ve done for my family.

In short, give me money, and I mostly want experiences. Times that will make memories bigger and better and worth more than whatever it took to pay for them.

Also, straight hair.

And damn, I really, REALLY want to go on a good trip now. Excuse me while I go look for a random pile of cash sitting somewhere.

What would you do with fun money?
8 thoughts on “What I’d Do With Fun Money

  1. Kevin and I have tried to raise our kids with a priority of experiences over material things, no matter how small or trivial it may seem. It becomes more difficult as they get older, but we know deep down that when they look back on their childhood they will remember our movie dates, day trips and vacations much more than a $150 pair of shoes….at least we hope they do:)

  2. $100: I’d buy a ton of old navy maternity shirts that actually fit. $1,000: a fun getaway to somewhere warm. Ohhhh the things we could do to our house with $100,000! New furnace, new windows, hardwood floors and serious landscaping! And $1,000,000… Hmmm that’s a tough one.

  3. Pingback: Monday Musings ~ May 2 | Leah's Thoughts

Leave a Reply

