Stitch Fix June 2016 Review & $700 Gift Card Giveaway!

A Storybook Life, Stitch Fix, Papermoon Malkin Crochet Detail Top, Papermoon Stegner Button Back Top, Crescent Benedetto Open Back Blouse, Level 99 Giovanni Ankle Straight Leg Jean, Collective Concepts Katelynn Dress
It was a long month without a Stitch Fix shipment. It was a thrill to get the email that my most recent Fix had shipped: new summer clothes! But you know what would really get the summer started right? An email that you’d won a $700 Stitch Fix gift card!

And that message may be coming your way, my friends. A group of other Stitch Fix bloggers and I are partnering to sponsor this huge giveaway. One lucky reader will win $700 to spend on Stitch Fix! More on how to enter, below.

Before this month’s pictures and the reviews — and the link to the raffle — a quick reminder of how Stitch Fix works. You fill out an online style profile, based on which a stylist chooses five items (clothes, jewelry, and/or accessories) to send. You pay a $20 styling fee, which covers the cost of the stylist and shipping, and if you keep anything, you apply the $20 toward the cost of the item(s). If you keep all five, you get a 25% discount on the whole box! (You send whatever you don’t want back in a pre-paid envelope.) 

You can read my reviews of my earlier Fixes here. Last month, I kept two of the five pieces, a bright top and a mint-colored satchel that holds everything and can go everywhere (and it has!).

This month I asked for casual summer dresses and a top and cropped pants or capris for an upcoming family reunion, and I repeated my now-standard plea for bright colors and petites. My regular stylist Shelby was on vacation, so I was paired with another stylist. Here’s what arrived in my box:

Papermoon Malkin Crochet Detail Top ($44)

This is the kind of top I need to break up the monotony of gray, navy, and black t-shirts and tanks in my summer wardrobe. I could see wearing it with shorts on the weekend, a skirt or capris in my very business casual office, or jeans for a casual date night (which would be the only kind we have). The knit and flow to the top would make it a great option for the sticky DC summer, too. Except, those armholes. Just a touch too big, and the crochet detail on the tank straps would make it awkward to wear a tank or cami underneath. Boo.

Verdict: Returned.

Crescent Benedetto Open Back Blouse ($44)

I was happy to see that all four tops I got this month were petites – go petites! It makes me wonder how big this top must be in regular sizing, because even the XS petite was enormous. The back cut out was cute, but the sheer top meant you needed to wear a tank under…which would have interfered with the back detail. Maybe a low-back cami would work? Unfortunately, for me, this top was just a miss all around.

Verdict: Returned.

Papermoon Stegner Button Back Top ($54)

Linen! I have no linen in my closet. In part because I’m allergic to ironing. But the good news is that the combo of the pleating and pattern on this top would make it so I probably wouldn’t have needed to iron it. But this was another totally sheer top, and wearing a tank under would have an easy, breezy top much less so. (Let’s be honest: on some DC summer days, even one top feels like too much, never mind two.) Plus, this color kind of washes me out. If this came in a more opaque bright/jewel tone, I’d be wearing it every day until September.

Verdict: Returned.

Level 99 Giovanni Ankle Straight Leg Jean ($98)

I’ve been begging for colored denim for…forever. I know everyone’s clamoring for the same mint jeans — including me! — so even though my stylist couldn’t find those in my size, I was glad to see that she kept my request in mind. And although the army green strikes me as more of a fall/winter color, I think I could find a decent amount of stuff in my closet to pair with these jeans for cooler summer nights. Ultimately, it came down to fit, and while lots of other reviewers have raved about these jeans, they just didn’t fit me quite well enough to justify the price tag. Guess what? I’ll be asking for more colored pants in my next Fix. No surprise there.

Verdict: Returned.

Collective Concepts Katelynn Dress ($78)

This dress reminds me a lot of the Collective Concepts dress I got in my very first Fix. I’ve seen others getting this in a fun pattern and wearing it for a cute date night out, but it’s just not quite right for me — not casual enough for summer weekend wear, and a little too flirty for my office. I think it also officially convinces me that elastic waist dresses are not a pear-shaped girl’s best friend! I’ve pinned a few more cute cotton dresses that I hope make it into my next Fix.

Verdict: Returned.

The final tally: 0/5. It’s a bummer to have a box of misses. But to Stitch Fix’s credit, their system did ask me for more information about why I wasn’t buying anything, which I hope will make for a better Fix the next time around…which will be in about two weeks. I can’t help myself.

Stitch Fix Summer $700 Gift Card Giveaway

And now, what you’ve really been waiting for: the raffle to win a $700 Stitch Fix gift card! Click over to Maria’s post at Crazy Together to claim your entries! The raffle ends at 11:59 p.m. Eastern on Wednesday, June 8 — so don’t forget to enter. Good luck! I hope one of my readers is the lucky winner — and I can’t wait to see what you’ll buy with your winnings. (And while you’re over at Maria’s post, check out our giant linkup, where you’ll be able to read all the June Stitch Fix reviews from the bloggers collaborating on the giveaway!)

Disclaimer: This post isn’t sponsored by Stitch Fix, and I pay for whatever I keep. But if you’re interested in trying Stitch Fix and you sign up using my referral link, I’ll receive a small credit to use toward future purchases when your first Fix ships. Thanks!

Want to see my past Stitch Fix reviews?

 

 

 

 

17 thoughts on “Stitch Fix June 2016 Review & $700 Gift Card Giveaway!

  1. Darn it, I’m bummed that there were no winners! Thank you for the post, I’ve been waiting for it as usual! I love shopping vicariously through you my friend.

  2. What a bummer that you didn’t like anything enough to keep. I like the Papermoon top but it’s neutral color is kind of dull. I’m with you on not wanting to wear two layers in the summer. One top I kept this month requires a cami and two layers at times in the summer are too much. I hope that next month will be better for you.

  3. I’ve had a bad fix before and it’s SUCH a bummer. I hope you get your regular stylist back next time. So far I haven’t gotten the same stylist 2x in a row.

    • Have you requested the same stylist or not had a good enough experience to want to repeat? I ask for Shelby when I check out and in my Fix-specific note. Here’s hoping she’s back from vacation!

      • I asked for the same stylist after my first fix but then didn’t get her, then I went through a couple bad fixes so I didn’t want to go out of my way to request them again. My last stylist hit the nail on the head though and I made sure to ask for her again for the next one.

  4. Yea Petites! I can’t imagine what that open back top is like in a regular size because it swallowed you. My stylist is going out on maternity leave so I’m a little nervous about my next fix.

    • Request Shelby as a stand-in for your stylist! I am hoping against hope that she’ll be back for my next Fix (which, um, I scheduled for next week…). She’s been great.

  5. Bummer that you didn’t like anything. I signed up ages ago but haven’t completed all of the steps…maybe if I win the giftcard, well, that’d motivate a girl to get ready for summer now wouldn’t it?!? 🙂

Leave a Reply

