Stitch Fix Review #8: June 2016

img_7161

After a disappointing 0/5 late-May Fix, I could have stepped away from Stitch Fix for a while. Instead, I doubled down and moved my next Fix up to the first available date, just a couple of weeks later. I knew I only wanted one more summer Fix before taking a break until the fall, so I figured I might as well get it as soon as I could – and then fill in whatever blanks would be left after in my summer wardrobe.

A quick reminder of how Stitch Fix works. You fill out an online style profile, based on which a stylist chooses five items (clothes, jewelry, and/or accessories) to send. You pay a $20 styling fee, which covers the cost of the stylist and shipping, and if you keep anything, you apply the $20 toward the cost of the item(s). If you keep all five, you get a 25% discount on the whole box! (You send whatever you don’t want back in a pre-paid envelope.) 

Read my reviews of my earlier Fixes here.

I emphasized in my note to my stylist (welcome back, Shelby!) that I wanted to stick with casual cotton and knit pieces. My summer clothes need to be light for the DC heat and humidity and easy to wear while running around with the kids, which is why I’ve usually fallen back on Old Navy and Target tees and shorts – why spend money on pieces that are lucky to make it through a whole summer? But in the spirit of upgrading my closet a bit beyond my usual 2-for-$10 sale, I pinned a bunch of cute tanks, tops, dresses, and skirts. Here’s what I got. (Note that I’m adding in sizes this time for reference.)

Pixley Rolfe Knit Back Top | XS | $54

As she’s done so well in the past, Shelby tracked down a couple of my pins! I loved the colors in this one – bright but not overwhelming – and it was light and flowy. Only problem is that it was also just too big. Too long, with oversized arm holes and too droopy a neckline. Sadly, this one went back.

Verdict: Returned

Market & Spruce Careen V-Neck Dolman Knit Top | XS | $48

I’d pinned this one, too, with a note acknowledging that it’s not the summery-ist (?) of tops, but that I liked the look and I figured I could wear it on cool nights and as a summer-to-fall transition piece. And navy and white stripes? Sign me up. Had it fit, it would have given me a good excuse to finally take the plunge on buying some white pants or jeans, too. Alas, while the arms fit well, the cut was just too loose and the v-neck too wide and deep on my small-shouldered (and chested) frame. Back it went.

Verdict: Returned

Skies Are Blue Dakoda Mixed Material Dress | XSP | $68

This is exactly the kind of piece that I’d been hoping for – something a little different than I’d pick for myself (orange! Mixed material!) but with elements of my traditional style (navy! Scoop neck!). The top of the dress fit well but the waist hit me in an awkward spot and the skirt was a little shorter than I’d like. I also didn’t have good shoes to wear with it, and though I’m not above finding an excuse for some new sandals, this wasn’t the dress worth the excuse. Ah well.

Verdict: Returned

London Times Evaline Eyelet Dress | 2P | $78

This dress is seriously adorable. A color I probably wouldn’t pick for myself, but I really liked it. It felt substantial but still summery and could have made a good transition to fall. Only…it’s almost exactly like my Listen to Your Mother dress – you know, one of the five dresses I couldn’t dump? – and as a result, I couldn’t justify keeping it. But if you’re looking for a cute eyelet dress for a summer party or casual wedding? Get this one.

Verdict: Returned

Kut From the Kloth Gracelyn Pencil Skirt | 0P | $58

 

The day before Shelby began working on my Fix, I’d pinned a casual chino skirt. It was an olive green color that I wasn’t too excited about but I could have made work; the more important thing was the idea of having a versatile piece that could go from work to home to weekend. I was happy when I saw that this pink version was in my Fix! Now, I do already have a pair of pants in nearly this shade, but I figure this skirt will work well on hot, humid summer days when I can’t imagine pulling on pants. Yes, my friends, it’s a keeper.

Verdict: Kept!

The final tally: 1/5. The colors in this Fix brightened my June, even if the fits were off somewhat. Based on my last few Fixes, I’ve come to the conclusion that Stitch Fix’s extra small petite summer inventory must be low. I was already planning to hold off on another shipment until the fall, but this Fix confirmed it. See you back here for another reveal in a couple of months, when we’ll be pining for sweater weather and layers to take us into the crisp fall days.

Disclaimer: This post isn’t sponsored by Stitch Fix, and I pay for whatever I keep. But if you’re interested in trying Stitch Fix and you sign up using my referral link, I’ll receive a small credit to use toward future purchases when your first Fix ships. Thanks!

Want to see my past Stitch Fix reviews?

And, if you’re like me and can’t get enough of Stitch Fix reviews, visit the Stitch Fix review link up hosted by Maria from Kinder Craze and Crazy Together.

Share-Pics-Of-Your-Fix-Button

 

4 thoughts on “Stitch Fix Review #8: June 2016

  1. I feel your pain. When I first opened up my Stitch Fix account I was so excited and everytime a box arrived I was like a kid on Christmas morning. Suddenly, my fixes weren’t turning out too well. The last 2 were horrible. The clothes weren’t the things I would pin and I had specifically stated in my profile that I didn’t wear a certain type of jean. Living in N. Virginia, who wears black jeans in June, July and August. With my last Fix I put my account on hold and am hoping for a more positive Fall.

    • Frustrating. I wonder if it’s a combination of quick growth, inventory management and summer clothes that just don’t seem to hit the mark as well as the fall/winter ones do? I agree that I was happier with my warmer clothes.

Leave a Reply

