Little Loves…and Less-Than-Loves

Photo by Josh Jones

If you’ve been around these parts for a bit, you’ve probably figured out that I love sweater weather and all things pumpkin, TV (especially if it features anything throwback to the 90s, Coach or Mrs. Coach, or baseball), podcasts, sugar, and sarcasm. Likewise, you may have determined that I’m not a particularly big fan of restricted diets, being too hot or too cold (thanks, good-for-nothing-and-now-missing thyroid), and cancer.

(So the last one’s kind of a gimme. But given my usual subject matter — and the fact that today marks six years since my last radiation treatment — I felt like I might as well state the obvious.)

But when one of my favorite writers, Lindsey Mead, wrote last week about the small things she loves, and those she doesn’t, I couldn’t help but make my own list. So, I give you my lists of my small loves…and less-than-loves.

Things I love:

  • Travel planning
  • Opening the door to a new hotel room
  • Listening to my kids making each other laugh
  • Stirring risotto and watching the liquid absorb into the rice, before pouring in the next cup, and stirring some more
  • The Friday Night Lights theme song
  • Ice-cold beer on a hot summer day
  • The smell of freshly cut grass
  • The roar of the crowd when they realize it’s a home run
  • Sweatshirts at the beach
  • Early-season Christmas carols (see sweater weather, above)
  • Stories behind ornaments

Things I definitely don’t love:

  • Peas
  • The so-called word “impactful”
  • Unloading the dishwasher
  • Grocery shopping on Sundays
  • Flying with toddlers
  • Movies without linear plots (I’m looking at you, Pulp Fiction)
  • The song “Werewolves of London” (not logical. I just cannot stand that song.)
  • Summer camps that don’t last a full workday
  • The DC Metro. I left last fall and haven’t looked back!

What’s on your list? What small things send your heart soaring – or make you grit your teeth?

10 thoughts on “Little Loves…and Less-Than-Loves

  1. Nicely done. I’m right there with you on freshly cut grass and I’m glad to find someone else that hates Pulp Fiction. What a waste of time that was.

    I also love The Masters and anytime someone mentions the name Larry Bird..

  2. Such a great list!! I’m with you on the smell of grass and Christmas carols, and also on the dislike for the grocery store on Sundays and the word “impactful” (I hate the word “incentivize”). Happy six years! xox

  3. Well done. I love slapping 5 around the room and yelling touch down Patriots! Cold Buds and Jack n Cokes. Love it when Danny’s Song comes on the Radio, sleeping in a tent or with the windows open and a cool breeze. List goes on.

Leave a Reply

