Three Good Things [02.01.15 – The Super Bowl Edition]

Well, well, well, what do we have here? It’s only taken me more than three months, but I’ve finally managed to scrounge up a new Three Good Things post.

It’s not that there haven’t been plenty of good things to list in the last few months, but as I mentioned last week, there just haven’t been free hands with which to type them. I’ve stitched this one together piecemeal over the last several weeks during middle-of-the-night feedings, Katie’s catnaps in the swing, and stolen moments while she chats with her giraffe on her playmat.

But it’s time. Time to get back to actively searching for the small things that brighten and enlighten my days, an activity that, without fail, improves my outlook whenever I do it regularly.

Good things happen every day. (1)

Three things I’ve loved:

  • #1000Speak. A few weeks ago, after a particularly bad string of people doing horrible things to each other, Lizzi at Considerings – one of the hosts of the Ten Things of Thankful blog hop I’ve participated in, so already a cultivator of good things – wrote a post, “We ALL Need the Village,” in which she implored readers to both know they’re not alone, and to do things to let others know the same. Her post caught fire and led Yvonne Spence, another blogger, to create 1000 Voices Speak for Compassion, a movement in which more than 1,000 bloggers have pledged to post on February 20 about kindness and compassion, spreading good across the Internet. That day is going to be powerful on its own, but I think it’s pretty special that all of these people have already begun incorporating this message into the work they’re sharing in their posts, videos, tweets and more. I can’t wait to see what more comes of this movement, because I see it being much bigger than one day.

  • “I want to hold it”/ “I want to see ‘the Katie’.” Teddy’s first thought when he wakes up and last before he goes to bed revolves around his sister, and it is basically the cutest thing ever. His newest obsession: sitting on the couch and holding her in his lap. She doesn’t seem to mind this, at least until his lovelovelove turns accidentally violent with pokes to her eyes.
Happy together.

Happy together.

  • “I am the locker room guy.” Matt Damon, Ben Affleck, John Krasinski (looking impressively like my cousin Jay), ridiculous Boston accents, multiple mentions of Roslindale. Just when you thought Deflate-gate couldn’t provide more entertainment, here you go (thanks, Jimmy Kimmel). We’ll be watching this as part of our pre-game party later today.

Three things I’ve learned:

  • Godairyfree.com and mywholefoodlife.com. These are treasure troves of sites for those among us who desperately miss cheese and chocolate. I haven’t started making stuff with coconut butter or ground cashews yet (though I’ve benefitted from a friend making football food with the latter), but it won’t be long before I do.
  • Go Fug Yourself Downton Abbey recaps. How did I not know about these before this season? Now I have to go back and read everything they’ve written about the show for years past. (And if you didn’t know about these either, you’re welcome.)
  • “Closing Time” wasn’t about what you (and I) thought. Did you already see this clip in your Facebook feed a couple of weeks ago? (Like I said, it’s taken me a while to write this post.) Even if you did, it’s still pretty awesome. I have kind of a photographic memory when it comes to music – I can generally associate a song with a year or a time in my life – and “Closing Time” featured prominently in my sophomore and junior years of college. So back then, I took it at face value – “One last call for alcohol, so finish your whiskey or beer” – but Dan Wilson’s story makes me see it in a whole new light.

Three things for which I’ve been grateful:

  • Dairy substitutes. See above. I miss cheese and chocolate like crazy. My first venture into the world of Daiya “cheese” was just eh, but almond milk and coconut oil and Smart Balance “buttery spread” are making this a little easier.
  • Allies in this crazy preschool search. I’m still on maternity leave, but don’t be fooled – I’ve picked up another nearly full-time job on the side. It’s called “finding your kid a preschool in the D.C. school lottery.” As one friend and fellow prospective pre-k parent said, “I think it may be easier to win the actual lottery than to get the school you want in the preschool lottery in D.C.” Several times a week for the last month, my little (mostly snoozing) sidekick and I have trudged to open houses to hear about schools’ curriculums, approaches to discipline, and lunch offerings. And then the administrators usually say to the dozens of parents gathered in the auditorium or cafeteria that there will be five or seven spots available for new students through the lottery this year. Gahhhh. Thankfully I’ve had compatriots in this craziness in the form of a few other daycare moms, with whom I’ve shared open house notes, thoughts on our neighborhood schools, and ideas for what we’ll do if and when we strike out in the lottery. Also, wine. Obviously.
  • Sarah Bagley. I was so grateful to Sarah Bagley for asking me to join her for an episode of her podcast on being a recovering perfectionist. The conversation was a high note to start maternity leave on, and I was pleasantly surprised when I listened to the episode a couple of weeks ago to find that I rambled far less than I felt like I had (not that I was rambling-free; Sarah did put me at ease, and a relaxed Michele is often a rambling Michele). I love her podcast (and not just because she had me on it!) – I’ve found so many interesting writers and other podcasters there, and it has truly helped me to feel like I’m not alone in this whole quest for balance (if not perfection).

What’s made your three good things list lately? What have you loved, learned, or felt grateful for?

ps. Admit it, you’re still singing “Closing Time” in your head, aren’t you? Me too.

pps. Go Pats! Whoopie pie helmet cake for the win.

4 thoughts on “Three Good Things [02.01.15 – The Super Bowl Edition]

  1. I LOVE your “Three Good Things” posts, Michele. They are so lively and filled with great tidbits. Always enjoy seeing your blog posts in my inbox.
    PS – We were at Busboys and Poets today and I thought of you. I told Jesse I want to move to this neighborhood and the maybe we could be carpool buddies. 🙂

    • You were at the Busboys in Brookland? You were right around the corner! We love getting people to move to the neighborhood — come on down! (And not only bc I’d love a carpool buddy, but that would be a plus. :))

  2. I’m behind–chronically–on my reading queue, so just now reading this post. Had to tell you that “while she chats with her giraffe on her playmat” made me giggle aloud. Glad that you’re doing so well.

Leave a comment