Checking In on Intentions

Back in February, I declared my intentions for the year. Not goals – intentions. (It’s harder to fail at intentions.) As we inch (or leap, as the case may be) toward the year’s midpoint, I thought it was time to check in on how I’ve done.


I wanted to read. On track.

Reading, formerly a favorite pastime, seriously fell by the wayside over the last few years. But I wanted to get back to it, both because I think to be a good writer, you need to be a good reader, and because I missed the feeling of losing myself in a book. As much as I love the excitement of knowing there’s a new episode of The Americans waiting for me in the DVR, it doesn’t come close to the feeling when you can’t wait to jump back into a book. I’ve gone in fits and starts this year – partially as a result of Katie stealing and hiding my iPad where it’s yet to be found, and partially because I’m a devoted listener of the West Wing Weekly podcast, which requires me to binge-watch old episodes — but so far I’ve read eight books, with four more in some state of “am reading” – and my to-read list is growing by the day.

I wanted to write. On track.

I’ve done less structured writing of what I think of as my “bigger pieces” in recent months, but my Three Good Things and Stitch Fix posts have kept me writing here on the blog, and I have an ever-growing list of ideas for longer essays. I’m planning to take a day off in July to use as a creative retreat, aimed at knocking one of them out. In the meantime, stay tuned for a piece I’ll have up in the next week. It’s one of the toughest pieces I’ve written and I’m glad it found a home.

I wanted to work out. On track-ish.

I believe I said in my original post that I wanted to stop treating my body “like a garbage heap.” I won’t proclaim to have revolutionized my diet (seriously, anyone want to stage a vending machine intervention for me?) but I’m still going to barre once a week and am walking on the treadmill a couple of times a week. Maybe the second half of the year will be my time to eat clean and pick up my pace.

I wanted to dress up. On track.

Not every Stitch Fix delivery has been a success, but overall the service has helped me think more intentionally and creatively about my wardrobe, and I count that as a win. I have a few new pieces in my closet, new day and evening bags to carry, and thanks to a quick stint with Rocksbox, even a few pieces of statement jewelry that I probably never would have bought on my own.

I wanted to get out, and get away. On track.

I made it back to Girls Weekend – featuring me as the only person happy to be in an airport, because I was by myself – and we’ve gotten babysitters and traded sits with friends for a few nights out. Nothing revolutionary but welcome changes of pace.

I wanted to get back to gratitude. On track.

I’ve kept up my monthly(ish) Three Good Things posts, and while I’m not writing in my gratitude journal every single night, I’m doing it more than not. Every time I think of five good things that happened that day – some as small as “it stopped raining” and even on seemingly bad days – I feel better.

How’s your year going? Are you showing yourself grace on the days (or weeks, or months) when things don’t go to plan?

6 thoughts on “Checking In on Intentions

    • Thanks, Nina – it does! Even if I’m guarding myself on a generous curve. And to be honest, I set goals that I thought I could actually hit…so I’m glad I’m making my progress. 😀

  1. What a great idea to go back to your goals/resolutions and check in. You inspired me to do the same. Congrats on your progress!

    • Thanks so much, Leah! I thought to do it when I went back to see how many books I’d actually read and was pleasantly surprised. We’ll see how the second half of the year goes…

Leave a comment